top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNathanael Harris

La Primera Semana

A mad dash from the DFW airport to Mexico City and then straight to Puebla, that was how this trip started and it hasn't slowed down since. Seeing that I am an Industrial Engineering student, you might not see how I could have the time to spend a large portion of my summer studying Spanish abroad in another country, one that I've never been to before too. Well, my response to you would be "la vida es una" or, in other words, YOLO. When the opportunity to study abroad in Puebla essentially fell into my lap, I knew that it was something that I should pursue. Months of preparation later, I find myself in a one-on-one class every day with a Spanish teacher and a work study with a team of Spanish-speaking engineers. It can be intimidating at times, but the only thing that I can do to keep going is to remind myself that every day is a step forward, and every ounce of effort I put in will be met with consistent growth in my grasp of the language.

La Bella Vista: the view from my apartment.


Something that I learned when I arrived here is that I am the only engineer from the University of Arkansas that is studying at UPAEP in this program. Luckily, there are other students here in the medicine, business, and education programs from Arkansas that I have made friends with, but it still can seem daunting to be the only engineering student in the Arkansas program. Every day in the classroom, it is just me and my teacher. What I thought would be difficult and daunting has actually become my favorite part of the day. My professor, Rosalía, has been a major blessing. Every day is dedicated to vocabulary and conversation, and I can already tell that I'm getting better. Being the only student in the classroom has granted me the unique opportunity to motivate and push myself to new heights.


Los Estudiantes: These are the students from Arkansas and UPAEP that I have had the pleasure to get to know.


One thing I was told before going on this trip was that the food would be amazing. I have to say, I've yet to be disappointed. From street food to local restaurants, I've probably been a little more adventurous than is suggested. But with food this good, how could you stop yourself from trying all the different types of cuisine?


Tacos en la Calle: these street tacos were absolutely amazing. If you're ever in Puebla, Cuban tacos are definitely a must try.


This is only a small taste of everything I've done this week, the people I've met, and the activities that I have done or will be doing in Puebla, Mexico. There's so much that I want to share with everyone. So, I hope you enjoy this experience with me!

La Universidad: This is the university that I am studying at in Puebla, Mexico.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page